April 11, 2023

The Grant County Commission met in special session at 9:30 AM with Commissioners Buttke, Street, Stengel, and Mach present. Commissioner Tostenson was absent. Chairman Mach called the meeting to order. The purpose of the special meeting is to consider action on a resolution to form an ambulance district. Motion by Stengel and seconded by Buttke to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried 4-0.

Staff member present was Commissioner Assistant Layher. Emelia Enquist was present from the Grant County Review.

Chairman Mach called for a motion. Motion by Street and seconded by Stengel to approve Grant County Resolution 2023-04, a Resolution to create an Ambulance District in accordance with SDCL 34-11A.

Discussion was held to form an ambulance district in Grant County. The towns that have agreed to join the ambulance district are Milbank, Big Stone City, LaBolt, Revillo, Stockholm, Strandburg and Twin Brooks. Albee and Marvin are not included currently. They may join later if they choose. The ambulance district will have a representative from each commissioner district, with a total of 5 members. After the second publication of the resolution, the twenty-day countdown for a referral action begins. After the resolution is effective, the county can start advertising for candidates to take out petitions. If no one submits a petition in a district, a member is appointed by the Commission. The Board must be seated by early June.

Chairman Mach called for the vote. Motion carried 4-0. Grant County Resolution 2023-04 adopted.

## GRANT COUNTY RESOLUTION 2023-04

## A RESOLUTION TO CREATE AN AMBLUANCE DISTRICT IN ACCORDANCE WITH SOUTH DAKOTA CODIFIED LAW 34-11A

WHEREAS Grant County, A Political Subdivision of the State of South Dakota, has expressed intent to create an Ambulance District within the boundaries of Grant County, South Dakota, and

WHEREAS Milbank, Grant County, South Dakota, A Political Subdivision of the State of South Dakota has passed a resolution to be included in the Proposed Ambulance District; and

WHEREAS Big Stone City, Grant County, South Dakota, A Political Subdivision of the State of South Dakota has passed a resolution to be included in the Proposed Ambulance District; and

WHEREAS Revillo, Grant County, South Dakota, A Political Subdivision of the State of South Dakota has passed a resolution to be included in the Proposed Ambulance District; and

WHEREAS LaBolt, Grant County, South Dakota, A Political Subdivision of the State of South Dakota has passed a resolution to be included in the Proposed Ambulance District; and

WHEREAS Strandburg, Grant County, South Dakota, A Political Subdivision of the State of South Dakota has passed a resolution to be included in the Proposed Ambulance District; and

WHEREAS Stockholm, Grant County, South Dakota, A Political Subdivision of the State of South Dakota has passed a resolution to be included in the Proposed Ambulance District; and

WHEREAS Twin Brooks, Grant County, South Dakota, A Political Subdivision of the State of South Dakota has passed a resolution to be included in the Proposed Ambulance District; and

NOW THEREFORE, be it resolved the following:

- 1. The Ambulance District in Grant County, South Dakota, shall be named the GRANT COUNTY AMBULANCE DISTRICT.
- 2. The area included in the GRANT COUNTY AMBULANCE DISTRICT shall include all area defined by South Dakota Codified Law 7-1-26 Grant County Boundaries:

"Beginning at a point where the township line between townships one hundred seventeen and one hundred eighteen north intersects the eastern boundary line of the State of South Dakota, thence west and along said township line to the southwest corner of township one hundred eighteen north of range fifty west of the fifth principal meridian; thence north and along the range line between ranges fifty and fifty-one to the township line between townships one hundred nineteen and one hundred twenty north; thence west and along said township line, crossing the Sisseton and Wahpeton Indian Reservation in the same course, to the southwest corner of section nineteen, township one hundred twenty north of range fifty-two west; thence north and along the range line between ranges fifty-two and fifty-three west to the township line between townships one hundred twenty-one and one hundred twenty-two north, according to the survey of the former Sisseton and Wahpeton Indian Reservation; thence east and along said township line to the former easterly boundary of said reservation; thence northeasterly along said former boundary to the township line between townships one hundred twenty-one and one hundred twenty-two north, outside of said former reservation; thence east and along said township line to the eastern boundary of the State of South Dakota; thence southeasterly and south along said state line to the place of beginning."

- 3. The areas encompassing the corporate limits of Milbank, Big Stone City, Revillo, LaBolt, Strandburg, Stockholm and Twin Brooks as recorded in the Grant County Register of Deeds Office, shall also be included in the GRANT COUNTY AMBULANCE DISTRICT.
- 4. The initial BOARD OF DIRECTORS of the GRANT COUNTY AMBULANCE DISTRICT shall be comprised of FIVE (5) members of the residents of the GRANT COUNTY AMBULANCE DISTRICT.
- The DIRECTORS of the GRANT COUNTY AMBULANCE DISTRICT shall be comprised of ONE DIRECTOR elected from each district as defined for the election of Grant County Commissioners.

6. The BOARD OF DIRECTORS of the GRANT COUNTY AMBULANCE DISTRICT shall be bound by all responsibilities and exercise all powers conferred unto it by South Dakota Codified Laws contained in SDCL 34-11A.

It is further resolved this resolution is effective twenty (20) days after its publication as authorized under SDCL 9-19-13.

Dated this 11th day of April, 2023.

GRANT COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA a political subdivision of the State of South Dakota

Michael J Mach Chairman

ATTEST: Kathy Folk Grant County Auditor

It is the policy of Grant County, South Dakota, not to discriminate against the handicapped in employment or the provision of service.

The next scheduled meeting dates will be April 18 and May 2 and 16, and June 6 and 20, 2023 at 8 AM. Motion by Stengel and seconded by Street to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried 4-0. Meeting adjourned.

Kathy Folk, Grant County Auditor

Michael J. Mach, Chairman, Grant County Comm.